Find Art Competitions

All competitions · Art prizes

Dates unconfirmedDates unconfirmed

National Photographic Portrait Prize 2027

National Portrait Gallery of Australia · Canberra, Australia

Annual Australian photographic portrait prize with a $30,000 cash prize plus $20,000 of Canon equipment, exhibited at the National Portrait Gallery in Canberra and toured nationally. 2027 entry dates have not yet been published.

Deadline
Not stated
Entry fee
Not stated
View on portrait.gov.au

Opens in a new tab.

Your eligibility

Tell us about yourself and we will check these rules against your details. Nothing leaves your device until you sign in.

Who can enter

Location
Australia
Age
No age limit
Career stage
Any
Mediums
Photography
Theme
portraiture
Submission
Online, then physical if shortlisted
Also
Australian photographers, amateur and professional.

About

The National Photographic Portrait Prize (NPPP) has been held by the National Portrait Gallery in Canberra since 2007 and gives equal billing to amateur and professional photographers. The winner receives $30,000 cash from the gallery and $20,000 in photographic equipment from Canon Australia; further awards include a $10,000 People's Choice Award, a $3,000 Art Handlers' Award and a $3,000 First Time Finalist Award. All finalists receive artist and copyright fees plus freight and travel costs.

The 2026 exhibition ran 22 August to 11 October 2026 in Canberra and tours to six regional venues through to April 2028.

Entry dates, fee and conditions for the 2027 prize have not been published on the gallery's site at the time of writing.

Similar, still open

Crocker Kingsley 2027

Blue Line Arts · Roseville

Deadline
Closes tomorrow
Open to
United States
Entry
US$45 ≈ £35
Prize
US$5,500 ≈ £4.3k
Prize / award
Closing soon

Noticed something missing or wrong?

Dates wrong, call opened, rules changed? Tell us and we will fix it.